Sep 18, 2009

Five pillars of Islam

Five pillars of Islam

Islam has five pillars or basic foundations to act. Acting correctly and sincerely on these foundations will transform a Muslim¡¯s life into the line of the Creator. Faithful practice of these duties inspires him to work towards the establishment of justice, equality and righteousness in society, and the eradication of injustice, falsehood and evil.

the first of the five basic foundations, is the declaration, knowingly and voluntarily, of:

La ilaha illal lahu Muhammadur rasulul lah

¡°There is no god except Allah, Muhammad is the Messenger of Allah¡±

This is the basis of all actions in Islam, and the four other basic duties follow this affirmation.

2. SALAH (compulsory prayer)

is offered five times a day. It is a practical demonstration of faith, and keeps a believer in constant touch with his Creator. The benefits of Salah are far reaching, long lasting and immeasurable. It develops in a believer the qualities of self-discipline, steadfastness and obedience to the Truth, leading him to be patient, honest and truthful in the affairs of his life.

The five daily prayers are:

FAJR between dawn and sunrise

ZUHR between midday and mid-afternoon

ASR between mid-afternoon and sunset

MAGHRIB just after sunset
ISHA between nightfall and dawn

3. ZAKAH (welfare contribution)

is a compulsory payment from a Muslim¡¯s annual savings. It is an annual payment of 2.5% on the value of cash, jewelry and precious metals; a separate rate applies to animals, crops and mineral wealth. Zakah can only be spent on helping the poor, needy, the disabled, the oppressed, debtors and other purposes as defined by the Qur¡¯an.

Zakah is one of the fundamental principles of Islamic economy, which insures an equitable society where everyone has a right to contribute and share.

4. Ramadhan Fasting - SAWM

is the annual obligatory fasting during the month of Ramadan - the ninth month of Islamic calendar. A Muslim, every day of this month, refrains from eating, drinking, smoking, and sex, from dawn to sunset. Sawm develops a believer¡¯s moral and spiritual standard and keeps him away from selfishness, greed, extravagance and other vices. Sawm is an annual training program which increases a MusIim¡¯s determination to fulfill his obligation to the Almighty Lord.

5. HAJJ (pilgrimage to the House of Allah)

is an annual event, obligatory on those Muslims who can afford to undertake it, at least once in their lifetime. It is a journey to the House of Allah (Al-Ka¡¯bah) in Makkah, Saudi Arabia, in the month of Dhul Hijjah - the twelfth month of the Islamic calendar. Hajj symbolizes the unity of mankind; Muslims from every race and nationality assemble together in equality and humanity to worship their Lord. The pilgrim, in the ritual clothing of Ihram, has the unique feelings of being in the presence of his Lord.

Source :
You may find in Korean language here

Thanks for coming

Thanks for coming
Terima kasih sudi hadir

Tajuk - Title